After being named the 2019 employees of the year at each of their respective campuses, teachers and educational support personnel from every school building in the district were recognized at the First Annual LCPS Employees of the Year Recognition ceremony, Wednesday, April 11 in the LCPS Administration Building Boardroom. In addition, district officials announced the semifinalists for the districtwide Teacher of the Year award and the Educational Support Personnel of the Year award.

Semifinalists for the District Teacher of the Year Award (front two rows) were recognized by by Superintendent Dr. Greg Ewing, Board of Education President Ed Frank and Board Member Terrie Dallman (back row).

“This year we wanted to ensure that each of our school buildings recognized the outstanding work of a teacher and educational support personnel from their campus,” said LCPS Superintendent Dr. Greg Ewing. “The work that these dedicated individuals do on a daily basis plays a critical role in helping our students to cultivate character, foster academic excellence and embrace diversity. It is truly an honor to work alongside a group of such distinguished educators.”

Semifinalists for the district Educational Support Personnel of the Year Award (front two rows) were recognized by Superintendent Dr. Greg Ewing, Deputy Superintendent Gabe Jacquez, Board of Education President Ed Frank and Board Member Terrie Dallman (back row).

This is the first year district officials have awarded campus-level teacher of the year awards at every school in the district, in addition to the districtwide award. The is also the first year that the district added a campus-level and districtwide awards program for educational support personnel such as custodians, educational assistants, food service workers, secretaries and other classified staff.

As part of the new selection process, the campus employees of the year, who are selected by their respective schools, are then entered into the running for the district awards. Two selection committees—one for Teacher of the Year and another for Educational Support Personnel of the Year—then select ten semifinalists, two finalists and one winner in each of the awards categories.

The 2019 LCPS Teacher of the Year and the 2019 Educational Support Personnel of the Year will be announced at the LCPS Foundation’s annual Celebration of Excellence in Education Awards dinner Monday, May 14 at the New Mexico Farm and Ranch Heritage Museum.

The campus employees of the year and the semifinalists for the district employee of the year awards are as follows:

(semifinalist for the district award)

Alameda Elementary School
Marita Renteria – Teacher of the Year           Susan Hain – Edu. Support Personnel of the Year

Booker T. Washington Elementary School
Rebecca Velarde – TOTY                              Gloria Chacon – ESPOTY

Central Elementary School
Saul Arzapalo – TOTY                                   Elizabeth Molina – ESPOTY

César Chávez Elementary School
Amy Moreman – TOTY                                 Cecilia Sidwell – ESPOTY

Columbia Elementary School
Aubrey Robey – TOTY                                  Sally Bernal – ESPOTY

Conlee Elementary School
Danielle Simmons – TOTY                             Patsy Miller – ESPOTY

Desert Hills Elementary School
Denise Murphy-Chambers – TOTY                Melanie Camacho – ESPOTY

Doña Ana Elementary School
Jeannette Cordova – TOTY                            Sylvia Ramirez – ESPOTY

East Picacho Elementary School
Silvia Mariscal – TOTY                                  Mary Porras – ESPOTY

Fairacres Elementary School
Noemi Moreno – TOTY                                 Egla Hernandez-Lamb – ESPOTY

Hermosa Heights Elementary School
Valerie Allred – TOTY                                   Esther Peña – ESPOTY

Highland Elementary School
Evelyn Nevarez-Grassel – TOTY                   Cathy Garcia – ESPOTY

Hillrise Elementary School
Eileen Klement – TOTY                                 Margaret Byrd– ESPOTY

Jornada Elementary School
Andrea Baker – TOTY                                   Liz Briseño – ESPOTY

Loma Heights Elementary School
Selena Martinez – TOTY                                Mary Misquez – ESPOTY

MacArthur Elementary School
Angela Silguero – TOTY                                Delia Hauserman – ESPOTY

Mesilla Elementary School
Pat Lopez – TOTY                                         Eva Orona– ESPOTY

Mesilla Park Elementary School
Loretta Barraza – TOTY                                 Jane McCann – ESPOTY

Monte Vista Elementary School
Vina Lujan – TOTY                                        George Vega – ESPOTY

Sonoma Elementary School
Matt Reiter – TOTY                                       Carmen Aguirre – ESPOTY

Sunrise Elementary School
Yvette Bustos – TOTY                                   Ronnie Wingenroth – ESPOTY

Tombaugh Elementary School
Kathy Brezina – TOTY                                  Lyn Boberg – ESPOTY

University Hills Elementary School
Jacklyn Scarborough – TOTY                        Vanessa Loya – ESPOTY

Valley View Elementary School
Emilia Linley – TOTY                                    Lydia Kelley – ESPOTY

White Sands K-8 School
Teresa Godman – TOTY                                Nicole Kroger – ESPOTY

Camino Real Middle School
Aletha Arellano – TOTY                                Conrad Estrada – ESPOTY

Lynn Middle School
Audra Poppy – TOTY                                    Diana Billings – ESPOTY

Mesa Middle School
Ben Serrano – TOTY                                      Patricia Prieto – ESPOTY

Mesilla Valley Leadership Academy
Terry Moore – TOTY                                      Joe Holguin – ESPOTY

Picacho Middle School
Dawson Yarbrough – TOTY                          Sandra Diaz Lopez – ESPOTY

Sierra Middle School
Melisha Espinosa – TOTY                              Charlie Oliver – ESPOTY

Vista Middle School
Kari Reyes – TOTY                                        Karen Goff – ESPOTY

Zia Middle School
Amy Krohn – TOTY                                      Sylvia Esparza – ESPOTY

Arrowhead Park Early College High School/ Medical Academy
Courtney McVay – TOTY                              Maria Mendez – ESPOTY

Centennial High School
Lorraine Bridges – TOTY                               Kevin Kirker – ESPOTY

Las Cruces High School
JoAnna Singer – TOTY                                  Elizabeth Trevizo – ESPOTY

Mayfield High School
Erin Taylor – TOTY                                        Eric Galaz – ESPOTY

Oñate High School
David Nuñez – TOTY                                     Lorena Ramirez – ESPOTY

Rio Grande Preparatory Institute
Nikolina Keyes – TOTY                                 Emma Hidalgo – ESPOTY

Megan Jimenez – TOTY                                 Alice Manning – ESPOTY

Central Office
N/A                                                                 Lupita Barrio – ESPOTY

Physical Plant
N/A                                                                 Noel Martinez – ESPOTY

-LCPS Communications Coordinator Paul Dahlgren,, (575) 527-5808